Tip # 6:Not Motivated to Exercise? Check out these Suggestions

Do you ever promise yourself to hit the gym and somehow you find yourself making excuses or something else takes priority? That was me last week. On Monday I was supposed to get my cardio game on for half an hour, but that did not happen. Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday all came and went and still I had no motivation to workout. The weekend came and boy did it come down with a major flu; so you guessed right, that was my excuse…lol. I feel terrible that I slacked last week, but you know what, it happens to the best of us. The good news is that this morning I woke up at 6:00am to do some cardio and resistance training…oh how I missed it. I kid you not!

So, what do you do when you do not feel motivated to exercise? There are a couple of things; however I will only list five suggestions for now.

  1. Have a gym/ workout buddy. This is definitely one of the things that helped me stay on track when I first started exercising. However, they too have to be serious about working out. You both can not be major slackers…lol. I have to thank my girl Tracy, without her, I would have given up on exercising after the first couple of weeks.
  2. Have a goal. It should be Specific, Measurable, Action Oriented, Realistic and Timed (SMART principle). For instance, if your goal is to lose 10 pounds, you should have a deadline of when you hope to achieve your goal. As well, write down the steps that you will take to realize your goal.
  3. Track your progress. I find this to be a great motivational tool for most of my clients. When one notices that they have lost two inches off their waistline, they are definitely motivated to stay on track.
  4. Keep it fun and switch things up. When I don’t feel like stepping outside, I’ll put on some music and dance for an hour or so.
  5. Schedule your workouts. I know that this week I will be exercising on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday. I highly recommend penciling in your workout times in your calendar and placing it in on your fridge or somewhere visible. On the day that you have worked out, mark it down on your calendar with an “X” or smiley face…whatever you choose. If you are the type that always fulfills commitments, you will not be pleased to see too many blanks on your calendar.

Feel free to share some of the things that get you motivated to get moving.

~Virginia~

Disclaimer: ***All information provided on this blog is provided as general information only. Please consult your physician or other qualified health care provider before beginning an exercise and nutrition program.****

5 Responses to Tip # 6:Not Motivated to Exercise? Check out these Suggestions

  1. Tina says:

    Hello Virginia,
    I love this article! and I appreciate the suggestion given to get us on how to get ourselves motivated to go to the gym.I myself can admit that I always have excuses; In fact lots of excuses, including the weather and my studies, but now that I know the tips on how to get myself motivated;I don’t think that I will be slacking anymore.
    I think I will find a partner to go to the gym with;oh by the way,I also dance to music in order to keep myself in shape.So, at least I do something…..lol

    So keep up the good work!
    Tina

  2. It’s so hard to find motivation at times, but I agree that it’s so important to have a partner in crime, especially when you’re trying to get into the rhythm of exercising regularly. Having you as a partner was awesome, you definitely picked up my slack and kept me motivated, especially when I saw your progress. Now that I don’t have my gym buddy 😦 I find group exercise classes to be really fun to go to, the energy is killer. I’m done rambling, really good tips!

  3. man says:

    Great tips, Vee, thank you so much. I look foward to reading your blog every time. I’m having trouble finding a reliable training buddy though, all my friends exercise “as and when feel like it.” What can I do? I always do well with a mentor. Thanks Vee, you’re the best!

  4. Virginia says:

    I hear you; it can be tough trying to find a reliable gym partner. These are some things that popped up in my mind when I read your question:

    1. Since you do well with mentors, you might want to choose someone whom you will be accountable to; they don’t have to exercise with you, but they would touch base regularly to know how you are progressing.

    2 Have you considered joining a group exercise class?

    3. Perhaps hiring a personal trainer may be beneficial to keep you motivated.

    4. Believe it or not, some workout videos I have get me pumped up; perhaps that could work for you as well.

  5. Pingback: What I danced to today in 60 minutes (Cardio & Resistance training incorporated) « Welcome to Virginia's Diary

Leave a Reply

