Tip # 3: Lack of Enough Sleep Contributes to Weight Gain

I have read from various reliable sources that lack of sleep does contribute to weight gain. Experts say aim for 7-8 hours of sleep. Why? I wish I could explain the importance in my own words, but answering this question would involve using a couple of scientific terms. Unfortunately, Science is one subject that made me go bonkers while I was in high school. So, I will not even try to attempt….LOL. The good news is that I was able to  find a simple explanation from Dr. Mehmet Oz, here it goes:

“Getting enough sleep keeps you thin. That’s because when your body doesn’t get the 7 to 8 hours of sleep it needs every night to get rejuvenated,  it needs to find ways to compensate for neurons not secreting the normal amounts of the feel-good brain chemicals serotonin or dopamine. The lack of sleep throws off your entire system—even increasing your levels of NPY, a peptide that decreases metabolism and increases appetite. Lack of sleep can become an even bigger factor as you age. When you get older, the pineal gland in your brain produces less of the sleep hormone melatonin, resulting in the subsequent cravings of carbohydrates” (Dr. Mehmet Oz)

I must confess that this is something that I need to work on myself. So, let’s do it together and see whether it makes a difference.

Source: Click for full article here

~Virginia~

Disclaimer: ***All information provided on this blog is provided as general information only. Please consult your physician or other qualified health care provider before beginning an exercise and nutrition program.****

3 Responses to Tip # 3: Lack of Enough Sleep Contributes to Weight Gain

  1. Tina says:

    Hello Virginia,
    I just read your article about lack of sleep; and I find it interesting and insightful; I am amazed how lack of sleep can also contribute to weight gain, although I am already aware that its contributes to fatigue and stress.
    As for my take on this, is that it never possible to have enough sleep in a fast-paced society, unless it is the weekend moreover, we have so many things to do after work, so is there any suggestion that you may have for me?
    Thank You
    Tina

  2. Virginia says:

    Tina, what a great question as I am sure many of us can relate. Right now I can think of two things to consider; time management and prioritization. I know that sometimes instead of preparing for bed, I’ll be browsing the net or chatting up with some friends and before you know it, its midnight. Setting a time to hit the sac may be a good idea as well. If you have to set an alarm as a reminder, do that (may sound over the top, but hey…you gotta do, what you gotta do). They say it takes 21 days to form a habit, so you may find that in no time you are hitting the sac when you are supposed to. You have to prioritize and determine the important things that absolutely must be done before you go to bed. If it is not something that is imperative for the next day, why not hit the sac and get your much deserved beauty sleep? LOL…I’m speaking to myself here as well. So let’s do this :). I hope this answers your question.

    ~Virginia~

  3. Bubumatic says:

    I love this article.. Need to get on that sleeping thing! Good looking out, Virginia!

Leave a Reply

