Tip # 2: Weights should become your new BFF

A lot of women are afraid to weight train due to fears of becoming bulky or looking masculine. First off, women do not produce as much testosterone as men do and therefore it is not possible for a woman to end up looking like a man. I have been weight training for three years now and have also trained a number of females in the last year and I can assure you these ladies look fit and toned, not muscular.  So, do incorporate weight training into your regular exercise program.

Very important: Proper form and technique are vital. I highly suggest that you educate yourself in order to avoid injury. You do not want a good thing to end up being detrimental in the long run. Or better still hire a personal trainer, but make sure they are certified, experienced and have attained the proper education.

Some benefits of weight training:

  • For every additional pound of muscle you gain, your body burns around 50 extra calories every day of the week
  • Weight training may help to reduce cellulite. As we all know cellulite is fat and the more muscle vs. fat, the less cellulite.
  • Weight training will increase bone density thus preventing osteoporosis especially for us women as we get older.
  • Even while you are asleep, you are still burning calories…amazing huh?

Some examples of exercises: Leg presses, Barbell squat, Lat pulldown, Barbell Chest Presses, Overhead presses and Bicep curls etc.

I really do hope that from now on you will not be afraid of using weights and that they will become your new BFF :).

~Virginia~

Disclaimer: ***All information provided on this blog is provided as general information only. Please consult your physician or other qualified health care provider before beginning an exercise and nutrition program.****

3 Responses to Tip # 2: Weights should become your new BFF

  1. Victor2006 says:

    Hello aunty Vee
    I am a single, handsome, financially stable young professional. I need your help! Honestlty, I have run out of ideas. The thing is I am not one to give up, but I have tried every slimming pill and this continues. I am desperate! Do you know how it feels like to be like me, a yuppy Bay street cool dude with everything in life and then have this problem? Oh, my gosh, you can’t imagine!!! I”m a man of a few words, so sorry for going straight to the point, I’m not being rude, just me. The thing is I am getting a pot belly, or unsightly tummy. What can I do, aunty? I need your help.
    Thank you. Desperate. P.S. Please reply!

  2. Virginia says:

    Auntie Vee?….ummm….where did that come from? LOL….let me pretend like I did not see that part :).
    Victor2006, you are not alone. Truth is most men do tend to see an increase in their gut as they get older; particularly when they are out of the college/university gates. All sorts of reasons may contribute to this, but I’ll focus on some of the things that should help.

    •If you drink beer, you may have to kiss it goodbye or reduce intake.
    •Try not eating 2-3 hours before you go to bed.
    •Avoid unhealthy fats (saturated and trans fats)
    •You absolutely have to exercise (cardiovascular training, strength training and stretching). One cannot solely do abdominal workouts and possibly have the results that one may be striving to achieve. I have seen some of my friends’ jump out of bed to immediately do sit-ups. You don’t want to be doing this. All 3 components have to be included in your exercise program. Additionally, I would recommend working out a minimum of 3 times a week.
    •Watch your sugar intake, this could be in the form of artificial sweeteners, juices, canned foods etc. Ohhh man’ sugary foods, my absolute weakness…*sigh*…. but it’s definitely one of those things that you have to be cognisant of.
    •Consult with your doctor to make sure that the increase in waist girth is not related to any particular health issue.

    Start off by trying these few suggestions and let me know how it goes. If you have any more questions please ask away. From my experience, nothing beats a good diet while consistently working out. Absolutely nothing! I hope this helps.

    ~Virginia~

  3. Stephanie G says:

    Nice tips!

Leave a Reply

